Jeff’s journey – so far!

Huntingdonshire-20140106-00017

Isn’t it nice when you receive one of those phone calls you’ve been waiting for and its great news.  I had one of those when Shirley phoned me when I worked at Wickes offering me the job as security adviser with the Bobby Scheme.

I’d experienced a morning out with the Bobby Scheme prior to my selection and was really impressed with the services that the scheme provided. I had recently retired from Cambridgeshire Constabulary and thought I could put my knowledge acquired after 22 years of police service into good use in crime prevention and reassurance.

I can’t believe I’ve been here almost six months!  On my first day as a Bobby Scheme Security Advisor, a new job is always a bit daunting, but I shouldn’t have worried, I was made to feel at home straightaway – I was shown where the coffee cups were and who drinks what – only joking!  I could not have wished for a nicer welcome –  it was great to meet the team.

The first two weeks I spent with Steve Price learning about the role.  From fitting the alarms and door chains to changing door locks and paperwork. Steve had five years experience as a security advisor and he has a lovely way with people – nothing was too much trouble, and there’s always time for a chat.

I soon realised that some of the occupants of the houses I would be visiting could be vulnerable and possibly needing someone to talk too and maybe help from other agencies.

After the two weeks with Steve, he had either had enough of me or thought I was ok to be let free onto the general public.

I have enjoyed every single day so far – it’s been great to spend time with people to try to reassure them and hope that the services the Bobby Scheme provides can make a difference to them in their own homes –  to make them feel safer and more secure by fitting security devices and giving advice on being a bit more security conscious.

I have met some wonderful people while visiting referrals in my area, I could sit and listen to them all day, and it surprises me how resilient people who have been victims of burglaries, rogue traders and other offences are.

I have given talks to groups that have included support groups for Carers, Alzheimers and Parkinsons to name a few, and an over 60’s club – and there are a few more in the pipe line!

If you think you could benefit from a visit from the Bobby Scheme, or would like them to come an talk at and event or group you’re involved in, please get in touch via our website.

This entry was posted in About us and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

